• You are here:

Portal del Océano Pacífico


The Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Pacific Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System (ICG/PTWS) first convened in 1968. The ICG/PTWS was renamed from the International Coordination Group for the Tsunami Warning System in the Pacific (ICG/ITSU) in 2005 to an intergovernmental body focusing on commitments of member states to continually embrace the comprehensive nature of tsunami risk reduction. The guidelines for the PTWS activities are compiled in the PTWS Implementation Plan (under revision).



Dr. Ken Gledhill (GNS Science, New Zealand)


Captain Patricio Carrasco (Hydrographic and Oceanographic Service of the Chilean Navy, Chile)

Dr Fujiang Yu (National Marine Environmental Forecasting Center / State Oceanic Administration, China)

Mr Takeshi Koizumi (Japan Meteorological Agency, Japan)

Working Groups 

The Intergovernmental Coordination Group meets regularly to establish and implement working plans in the Pacific region. To address specific technical issues it has formed three sessional working groups, four regional working group and xxx task teams:

Working Group 1 - Tsunami Risk Assessment and Reduction- Mr. François Schindelé (CEA/DG, France)

WG1 Task Team on Tsunami Modelling Hazard Assessment- Dr Vasily Titov (NOAA Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, United States)

WG1 Task Team on Tsunami Risk Assessment - Dr Nguyen Hong Phuong, (Vietnam Earthquake Information and Tsunami Warning Center, Institute of Geophysics, Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology, Vietnam)


Working Group 2 - Detection, Warning and Dissemination-  Dr Chip McCreery (RH Hagemeyer Pacific Tsunami Warning Center, United States) 

WG2 Task Team on Warning Dissemination (formerly Emergency Communications)

WG2 Task Team on PACWAVE 11 (formerly PTWS Exercises)

WG2 Task Team on Enhancing Products (formerly Enhancing Tsunami Warning Products)

WG2 Task Team on Seismic Data Sharing in the South West Pacific

WG2 Task Team on Sea Level Monitoring


Working Group 3 - Awareness and Response -  Mr. David Coetzee (Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management, New Zealand)


Regional Working Group on the South China Sea Region Dr. Mohamed Rosaidi (Marine Meteorological & Oceanography Department Malaysia) /Vice-chair: Dr Fujiang Yu (National Marine Environmental Forecasting Center / State Oceanic Administration, China)

Working Group for the South West Pacific - Ms Filomena Nelson (Disaster Management Office, Ministry Of Natural Resources & Environment, Samoa)  / Vice chair: Mr Don Anderson (Australian Bureau of Meteorology, Australia)

Working Group for the South East Pacific -Mr. Miguel Vazquez (Servicio Hidrográfico y Oceanográfico de la Armada de Chile SHOA)

Working Group for Central America - Mr. Alejandro Rodríguez (Instituto Nicaragüense de Estudios Territoriales, Nicaragua)



Hosted by:
UNESCO/IOC Project Office for IODE Oostende, Belgium
1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris Cedex 15, France | Tel: +33 1 45 68 39 84 | Fax: +33 1 45 68 58 12