• You are here:

Caribbean Home

The Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Tsunami and other Coastal Hazards Warning System for the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions (ICG/CARIBE EWS) was established in 2005 as a subsidiary body of the IOC-UNESCO with the purpose of providing efficient assistance on tsunami risk reduction to Member States in the Caribbean region after the lessons learnt from the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. The guidelines for the ICG/CARIBE EWS activities are compiled in the CARIBE EWS Implementation Plan



Ms. Christa von Hillebrandt-Andrade (NOAA Caribbean Tsunami Center, USA)


Mr Milton Puentes Dirección General Marítima, DIMAR, Colombia)

Lt Denis Lopez (Etat Major interministériel de Zone Antilles, Préfecture de la région Martinique, France)

Ms Aura Fernandez (FUNVISIS, Republica Bolivariana de Venezuela)


Working Groups 

The Intergovernmental Coordination Group meets regularly to establish and implement working plans in the Caribbean region. To address specific technical issues it has formed four working groups:

Working Group 1 – Monitoring and Detection Systems, Warning Guidance - Chair: Mr Jean-Marie Saurel (Observatoire Volcanologique et Sismologique de Martinique), Vice-chair for sea level : Mr. Sebastien Deroussi (Observatoire Volcanologique et Sismologique de la Guadaloupe, France), Vice-chair for seismology: Mr. Miguel Palma (Venezuela). 

Working Group 2 – Hazard Assessment-Chair: Mr. Alberto Lopez (University of Mayaguez); Vice-chair: Mr Franck Audemar (FUNVISIS, Venezuela)

Working Group 3 – Warning Dissemination and Communication: Chair Antonio Aguilar (FUNVISIS, Venezuela); Vice chair for Technology and communications platform for alerts: Mr Ernesto Morales (NOAA/NWS Puerto Rico, USA);  Vice-Chair for Protocols for end to end communication and dissemination of warnings: Mr Claudio Martinez (ONAMET, Dominican Republic)

Working Group 4 – Preparedness, Readiness and Resilience – Chair: Lt Patrick Tyburn (France), Vice chair (Public awareness): Ms. Stacey Edwards (Seismic Research Center); Vice-chair (Resilience): Ms Susan Hodge (Anguilla, UK)



Hosted by:
UNESCO/IOC Project Office for IODE Oostende, Belgium
1 rue Miollis, 75732 Paris Cedex 15, France | Tel: +33 1 45 68 39 84 | Fax: +33 1 45 68 58 12